Sunday, June 23, 2013

Do your photos tell more than you want viewers to know?

I heard a great story this morning on NPR about online privacy and wanted to pass along what was, for me, the biggest takeaway.   If you enable "Location Services," ironically to be found under the word "Privacy" on an iPhone, then double check to be sure that you have not turned them on for photos.

If location services are enabled for photos, then what you provide a viewer are the exact coordinates of your location as well as date and and time of the photo. 

Why is this a problem?  We've talked before (and in the book) about not posting detail about when you will be on vacation or that you are on vacation on Facebook and other social media sites.  If you post such details, it's the equivalent of inviting robberies, not from your friends, but from data trolls who vacuum up and sell such information.

Please use this post as an advisory to go in and double check your smartphone settings around privacy, and to take a close look at what you have enabled on such social media sites as Facebook, Twitter and Google+.

If you use photo services like Flickr to post to social media sites, please double check the privacy settings you have enabled there as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment